Job Openings - Click here for details

Serving since 1777

Washington County Sheriff's Office

Jonesborough, Tennessee

Keith Sexton, Sheriff

About WCSO

Washington County is located in upper-east Tennessee in what is known as the Appalachian Highlands region of the state. Our jurisdiction covers an area of approximately 330 square miles which includes the unincorporated communities of Gray, Telford, Fall Branch, Limestone, Watauga, and Chuckey. Washington County has two incorporated municipalities, Jonesborough and Johnson City. For more information about Washington County, click here.

Our agency is organized into the following divisions:
-Detention Center
-Patrol Division
-Criminal Investigations
-Warrant Services Division
-Community Relations
-Community Services

WCSO also maintains a SWAT Team, K9 Program, Reserve Unit, Honor Guard, Sheriff's Strike Team and CRASH Team.

WCSO Auxiliary

We're looking for volunteers! WCSO recently formed its first Auxiliary. Any community member interested in serving with us can contact Capt. Shawn Judy at 788-1474 or via email at

The Auxiliary Unit will assist with community policing programs, such as our Senior Check-In Calls, Trunk or Treat and other events WCSO participates in. You do not need any law enforcement experience as this will not be for commissioned officers. If you're interested in getting involved, contact Capt. Judy for more information.

IMPORTANT: You may deliver your application to us in person at our office or email it to us as an attachment to

Information and Services

The mission of the Washington County Sheriff's Office is to preserve the peace, protect life and property, prevent crime, apprehend criminals, recover lost and stolen property, and enforce laws fairly and impartially.

-General Order 12.2.1(a)

Sheriff's Office

112 West Jackson Blvd. Jonesborough, Tennessee 37659

Detention Center

114 West Jackson Blvd. Jonesborough, Tennessee 37659